2016 NFL MVP Award and Contenders

September 15, 2016
Andrew Luck is Number 1 in the Top 20 Highest Paid Quarterbacks in NFL

Updated: June 11, 2024

NFL MVP Award favorite Andrew Luck

The 2016 NFL Season is in full swing after an exciting first week came to a conclusion with the Monday Night Double Header. Week 1 featured prime time performances from Drew Brees, Leonard Williams, DeAngelo Williams and A.J. Green to name just a few.

Now that being said this is a perfect opportunity to take a look at which players might be in the running at the end of the season for the 2016 NFL MVP Award. Before we get to that group of players to watch lets take a look back at the previous winners since the 2000 NFL Season.

NFL MVP Award Previous winners

Since 2000 the quarterback position has dominated taking home 12 of the 16 NFL MVP awards in that stretch. Leading the way was Peyton Manning who took home five awards followed by Tom Brady and Aaron Rodgers who both have two awards. The only other position to win the award since 2000 was the running back position who had four players take home the award (Marshall Faulk, Shaun Alexander, LaDainian Tomlinson and Adrian Peterson.

NFL MVP Award contenders for 2016 after Week 1

This year the big question for us is whether or not the group of running backs can find a way to break the three year stretch of quarterbacks to win the award. After week 1 it may seem to be a difficult task as nine different players threw for over 300 yards including Drew Brees who finished week 1 with 423 yards and four touchdown passes.

While Brees is our favorite to take home the 2016 NFL MVP Award here are a few players to keep an eye on for the entire 2016 NFL Season.


Andrew Luck, Indianapolis Colts:

After an injury plagued 2015 campaign the Colts quarterback will look to bounce back while directing the team back to the playoffs. Luck didn’t show any rust after missing the final nine games of the 2015 season finishing week 1 with 385 yards and four touchdown passes.

Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh Steelers:

Now this will be an extremely difficult task as no receiver has won the award since Jerry Rice took home his second award back in 1990. That being said Brown has the physical tools to pass Calvin Johnsons record of yards but also the ability to catch more than the 23 touchdowns Randy Moss grabbed in 2007. If the Steelers offensive clicks like they did in week 1 and Brown pulls in over 120 yards each week with two touchdowns he could break the wide receiver drought.

Carlos Hyde, San Francisco 49ers:

Hyde is a deep sleeper at the running back position who could surprise people by the end of the season. While DeAngelo Williams led the way with 143 yards in week one, Hyde managed to match him with two touchdowns. One thing is for certain and that is the 49ers offense should see some production with Chip Kelly as the head coach. Now we would love Williams in the Steelers offense but we expect Le’Veon Bell to steal the production come week 4.

Jameis Winston, Tampa Bay Buccaneers:

Winston is another one of those sleepers that could creep his way into the MVP picture. Winston is surrounded by talented group of offensive players including wide receiver Mike Evans, running back Doug Martin and tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins. In the end Winston finished with 281 yards passing to go along with four touchdown passes.

Other 2016 NFL MVP candidates include Aaron Rodgers, Tom Brady, Ben Roethlisberger, A.J. Green and Le’Veon Bell.

Author Andy

Hi I'm Andy and as a regular bettor on sports I know where to spot a good sportsbook sign up deal. With over 25 years of placing wagers on horse racing and football I can lend my expertise to writing and advising you on everything sports and NFL betting. To your success.

Leave a comment