Tom Brady Nearly Even Money to Win Super Bowl 53 MVP

January 25, 2019
5 Ways To Bet On The Super Bowl 2021 with Tom Brady

Updated: March 14, 2023

  • Bovada lists Patriots QB Tom Brady as overwhelming favorite to be Super Bowl 53 MVP
  • Brady is the only player to win four Super Bowl MVP awards
  • Quarterbacks have won seven of the last nine Super Bowl MVPs

Is Tom about to add to his Brady bunch of Super Bowl MVP awards? Bovada most certainly thinks so.

The online sports betting site has established Brady as prohibitive favorite to capture MVP honors when the quarterback leads the New England Patriots into Super Bowl 53 against the Los Angeles Rams.

Odds to Be Named Super Bowl 53 MVP

PlayerTeamOdds to Be Named Super Bowl 53 MVP at
Bovada (01/15/19)
Tom BradyNE+110
Jared GoffLAR+225
Todd GurleyLAR+1200
Sony MichelNE+1600
CJ AndersonLAR+2000
Aaron DonaldLAR+2000
James WhiteNE+2000
Julian EdelmanNE+2500
Rob GronkowskiNE+3500
Brandin CooksLAR+4000
Robert WoodsLAR+5000
Rex BurkheadNE+6600
Aqib TalibLAR+6600
Dante Fowler JrLAR+6600
Josh ReynoldsLAR+6600

*Follow link for complete list.
Brady has won a record four Super Bowl MVP awards, including after Super Bowl 36, when he led the Patriots to a 20-17 victory over the St. Louis Rams.

When these odds opened, you could have had Brady at +700 to win Super Bowl MVP.

QB Or Not QB?

When it comes to the Super Bowl MVP, the quarterback is historically the center of attention. The winning QB was the MVP of the first four and five of the first six Super Bowls.

The only winners of back-to-back Super Bowl MVP awards – Green Bay’s Bart Starr (Super Bowls 1 and 2) and Pittsburgh’s Terry Bradshaw (Super Bowls 13 and 14) – were quarterbacks.

But as with most everything else in his career, Brady is the GOAT of Super Bowl MVPs as well.

His four wins are the record, one ahead of San Francisco’s Joe Montana and two better than Bradshaw, Starr and QB Eli Manning of the New York Giants, who won both of his Super Bowl MVPS by beating Brady and the Patriots in the big game.

Updated Super Bowl 53 Odds Tracker

Read More

Lately, quarterbacks have continued their Super Bowl MVP dominance, capturing seven of the last nine MVP awards. The MVP in all three of Brady’s Super Bowl losses was the opposing QB, with Philadelphia’s Nick Foles winning it last year.

Overall, QBs have been named Super Bowl MVP 29 times in 52 games. Running back (seven) is a distant second.

If Not Brady, Then Who?

Quick, without cheating, name the only position other than quarterback to earn a Super Bowl MVP award in the last nine Super Bowls?

Did you guess linebacker? Denver’s Von Miller (Super Bowl 50) and Seattle’s Malcolm Smith (Super Bowl 48) were the only players to break through the QB stranglehold.

So perhaps you want to consider Dante Fowler Jr of the Rams at +6600.

New England’s other Super Bowl MVP with Brady at the helm was wide receiver Deion Branch in Super Bowl 39.

No tight end has ever been Super Bowl MVP (sorry Gronk).

Just one DT has been Super Bowl MVP. That doesn’t bode well for LA’s Aaron Donald (+2000).

Basically, this award is Brady’s to win. But if New England doesn’t win, history tells us the MVP will be Rams QB Jared Goff (+225).

The post Tom Brady Nearly Even Money to Win Super Bowl 53 MVP appeared first on Sports Betting Dime.

Original source:

Author Andy

Hi I'm Andy and as a regular bettor on sports I know where to spot a good sportsbook sign up deal. With over 25 years of placing wagers on horse racing and football I can lend my expertise to writing and advising you on everything sports and NFL betting. To your success.

Leave a comment